The Magic Caf
Username:
Password:
[ Lost Password ]
  [ Forgot Username ]
The Magic Cafe Forum Index » » New to magic? » » Any tips for someone with bad social skills? (0 Likes) Printer Friendly Version

Go to page 1~2 [Next]
Sabiancym
View Profile
New user
2 Posts

Profile of Sabiancym
New member here. Thanks for the great forum, it's a big help.

Anyway, I've been working on my skills for 6 months or so now and have a few decent tricks in my repertoire so far. No gimmicks or anything yet, just basic-moderate sleights. I feel like I'm getting pretty good at the technical aspects of the performance, and think I'll be able to get even better as time goes on, but I have one problem that will keep me from ever being entertaining.

I've always been a pretty nervous person socially. I can do some tricks flawlessly when I'm by myself or with a close family member, but I find myself getting incredibly nervous when performing in front of people I don't know. This leads to the tricks being fairly boring. I'll do something that should get a decent reaction, but because I'm obviously nervous and not selling the trick well, it ends up being awkward. I've also messed up pulls and lifts due to being a bit shaky and incredibly nervous. Which obviously ends up making me even more embarrassed and pretty much ends the performance. Luckily these have just been impromptu performances at bars and parties in front of people I sort of know through friends.