The Magic Café
Username:
Password:
[ Lost Password ]
  [ Forgot Username ]
The Magic Cafe Forum Index » » Time after time » » How much? (0 Likes) Printer Friendly Version

xxxRoyxxx
View Profile
Loyal user
218 Posts

Profile of xxxRoyxxx
I've been working on a stage routine for quite some time now...It's been in the works for over a year. Now, I've been practicing the routine about 6 months now. The thing is that I often change the routine! Generally speaking, it's the structure of the routine that I change. Anyhow, the past 2-3 months I've been practicing VERY SERIOUSLY. See, I'm a college student and I often have much free-time to practice. If I had to estimate, I'd say that I practice NO LESS than four hours a day but on average 6-8 hrs.(did that make sense?) Anyhow, I've recently noticed that rahter than getting better, it seems like things are getting worse! So, I ask, is there a point when one should say to themselves "That is enough" and just do it (you know, go out and perform the routine)?... Is it like sports training; are there certain times in practice when you are your best, like athletes are in conditioning/endurance...Can anyone help???
leefoley3
View Profile
Elite user
Texas
402 Posts

Profile of leefoley3
You can always improve. Period. Then again, you can "overwork" some things. Evaluate your routine (write things down on paper), things you have tried and like, perhaps more than others, but, keep your original intentions in mind. Keep in mind that even though you may learn newer techniques/sleights,etc. you do not have to scrap the older methods you have learned. Use the ones that achieve the effect in the way you originally intended or the way you want to achieve it now that you may know more methods. Keep the flow of routine smooth. Video tape it. Are you doing ten moves to accomplish something when three will do?