The Magic Café
Username:
Password:
[ Lost Password ]
  [ Forgot Username ]
The Magic Cafe Forum Index » » New to magic? » » What are the pro's and con's of joining different Magic organizations (1 Likes) Printer Friendly Version

Go to page 1~2 [Next]
sadrac_noel
View Profile
New user
9 Posts

Profile of sadrac_noel
I am relatively new to magic and I see that there are quite a bit of different Magic organizations to join. My question is how important is this, and which organizations should I join, what are the benefits and are there any negative aspects of joining an organization? I am really interested in hearing as much feedback from both experienced and inexperienced magicians. I would really appreciate your responses, and suggestions. In addition I live in Orlando, Florida so I would really would appreciate any guidance, or suggestions from anyone that lives in the Orlando area. That said I humbly await your responses on this subject.
djurmann
View Profile
Inner circle
thinks time to practice and stop writing
1481 Posts

Profile of djurmann
It really depends on the organisation and you will find people from all camps here. Personally I am a member of two magic clubs (where I have found the people to be really supportive) but am a member of neither IBM nor the Magic Circle, though hope to join when I am ready as this adds some kudos to a business card. There may be other benefits but since I am not ready I haven't checked!
DWRackley
View Profile
Inner circle
Chattanooga, TN
1909 Posts

Profile of DWRackley
I’d say it’s the best thing you could do for your magic advancement. You will learn things from other members, be able to show your new effects to people who can give sound advice, and most likely have opportunities to attend lectures and teaching sessions that you’d never find out about otherwise. And you’ll probably make a few new friends as well.