The Magic Café
Username:
Password:
[ Lost Password ]
  [ Forgot Username ]
The Magic Cafe Forum Index » » The little darlings » » What works for a younger group? (0 Likes) Printer Friendly Version

Go to page 1~2 [Next]
Mystero
View Profile
Regular user
113 Posts

Profile of Mystero
My 1st post here so I apologize if this topic has been covered before. I’ve been doing magic for a little over 30 years but mostly close up, walk around adult venues.

Just got a gig for a 4 year old party, and that is the youngest I’ve ever performed for. I’m thinking hat tear; vanishing milk pitcher and funnel; sponge balls; mouth coil; coloring book and if the environment is right D’Lite.

What are your thoughts/suggestions? Smile

Kepp America in your prayers and stay amazing, Mystero.
Margarette
View Profile
Special user
Memphis area
956 Posts

Profile of Margarette
Stay away from the mouth coil with a group that young. They may try to imitate after you are long gone. Just do stuff that is colorful, animated, and doesn't require them to remember, or think. Remember, it isn't the destination that captures the attention of children this age...it is the journey to the destination!

Margarette
The only stupid question is the one not asked.
Steve Landavazo
View Profile
Special user
Northern California
654 Posts

Profile of Steve Landavazo
Mystero! If it’s a birthday party, try using the birthday boy or girls name as part of the magic words before the magic show begins. "O.K. boys and girls, before the magic show begins I need to teach you the magic words, and today the magic words are HAPPY BIRTHDAY SARA; if you say it loud enough, it might do some magic for you. So on the count of three I want everybody to yell "HAPPY BIRTHDAY SARA." The birthday boy/girl loves it; the parents love it too! This is a great way to warm up the audience; get them on your side.