The Magic Café
Username:
Password:
[ Lost Password ]
  [ Forgot Username ]
The Magic Cafe Forum Index » » Table hoppers & party strollers » » Advice for possible strolling gig? (0 Likes) Printer Friendly Version

invalidity
View Profile
Regular user
170 Posts

Profile of invalidity
Some friends have suggested that I do some magic at a fresher's fair at my university to attract people to our booth (a cultural society). Fresher's fair, for those unfamiliar with the term is a opportunity for university students to find out more about various societies offering a whole range of extracurricular interests. In this sense, I suppose it is not very different to a trade show.

I'm a relatively novice magician but am quite polished with card magic (ACR, darkcard, torched n restored, biddle trick, hot shot cut etc; no manipulations) and I can do a basic spongeball routine.

Any advice on what sort of tricks to perform and how to structure a routine for this purpose whould be great. Or perhaps pointing me towards some resources. Or (god forbid) maybe even telling me that I'm plain not ready for something of this order. Smile
Neale Bacon
View Profile
Inner circle
Burnaby BC Canada
1775 Posts

Profile of Neale Bacon
If you have 3 or 4 good polished effects, you should be OK. People come and go at that type of event, so you won't need tons of material.

Go with your strengths and have fun!

You will get some real world experience which will help in the long run.
Neale Bacon and his Crazy Critters
Burnaby BC
Canada's Favourite Family Ventriloquist
www.baconandfriends.com
invalidity
View Profile
Regular user
170 Posts

Profile of invalidity
Thanks for the encouragement Neale.

I was wondering if anyone can offer what sort of effects work to draw peoples attention and pull them to out booth? How do I go about presenting the effects to them?