The Magic Café
Username:
Password:
[ Lost Password ]
  [ Forgot Username ]
The Magic Cafe Forum Index » » Penny for your thoughts » » Definition? (0 Likes) Printer Friendly Version

Alex Reeve
View Profile
New user
63 Posts

Profile of Alex Reeve
Hello everybody,
I'm wondering how you would define the word "mentalist" to a lay person.

In an every day chat, if somebody ask me what I do for a living and I aswer "mentalist", he will look at me with a look saying what is he talking about?

When you say to some one that you are a magician they can see what you are talking about (whatever your specialty in magic is)but when you say mentalist they don't have a clue of what you are talking.

So I'm looking forward to see what is your general definition of a mentalist.
Smile
brownbomber
View Profile
Regular user
Edinburgh
156 Posts

Profile of brownbomber
Hi Alex,

Without really answering your question and at the same time referring to my previous post regarding presentation of abilities (re Psychokinetic Silverware), I think lay people's almost universal ignorance of the term 'mentalism' can be used to advantage. That is, when people ask how you perform your miracles, your simple response is 'mentalism' - they can then form their own definitions, or go away and find out for themselves. There - no lies necessary about 'psychic' powers!

bb Smile
Millard123
View Profile
Regular user
Millard Longman
170 Posts

Profile of Millard123
A mentalist presents his effects using only the power of his mind. He uses no props at all.

So mentalism is a demonstration of mental powers.

That includes any mental skill such as mathematical, scientific, psychological, paranormal, etc.
Millard Longman

See all my products at:
www.mevproshop.com
davekilpatrick
View Profile
Loyal user
Syracuse, NY
290 Posts

Profile of davekilpatrick