The Magic Caf
Username:
Password:
[ Lost Password ]
  [ Forgot Username ]
The Magic Cafe Forum Index » » New to magic? » » A couple neophyte questions (0 Likes) Printer Friendly Version

jxpx777
View Profile
New user
Fort Worth, TX
10 Posts

Profile of jxpx777
I've been doing magic more seriously for a few months now and I've bumped into a couple of issues I would like to run by The Café:

1. What are some good effects for kids? My nieces love when I do magic, but a couple of them are too young to really get card tricks and my repertoire is currently quite card heavy. They love scotch & soda and sponge balls (Carney's Current Classic). Mark Wilson's Sucker TnR Napkin from the complete course has also played well. What are some other effects that kids like?
  2. How do you deal with frequent requests for performing from the same audience? I find that my repertoire, which I'm very proud of at this point, is quite limited and when I'm around folks that enjoy the magic (Great to have those!) they want me to perform and I find myself trying to adjust my methods so that I can perform my effects multiple times without anyone catching on, but I'm starting to exhaust my options there too.

Thanks in advance!
jimhlou
View Profile
Inner circle
3698 Posts

Profile of jimhlou
Smaller kids are not a really good audience. In addition to the sponge balls (and sponge bunnies, which are much, much better), get a thumb tip and a 9" silk. I have a large silk with a top hat on it, and a small silk with a bunny picture on it, so I can put the rabbit in the hat or take him out.

Jim
motown
View Profile
Inner circle
Atlanta by way of Detroit
6136 Posts

Profile of motown
How old are your nieces?

Some thoughts would be the Milk Pitcher, rope magic, and the Magic Coloring Book. Tricks that are visual and easy to understand.
"If you ever write anything about me after I'm gone, I will come back and haunt you."
– Karl Germain
troppobob
View Profile
Veteran user
Crescent Head Australia