The Magic Caf
Username:
Password:
[ Lost Password ]
  [ Forgot Username ]
The Magic Cafe Forum Index » » The January 2012 entrée: David Kaye » » Need Some Guidance For Kid's Shows (7-13 y.o.) » » TOPIC IS LOCKED (0 Likes) Printer Friendly Version

nnakao
View Profile
New user
El Sobrante, California
5 Posts

Profile of nnakao
I am just getting back into magic after being away for a few years. I have always been into close-up magic and usually performed for teenagers and adults. But, I have recently been asked to do a few magic shows for kids. One of them being for the local Boy's & Girl's Club of about 50 kids.

So, I am a little nervous for some obvious reasons. Some being:

1 - I am rusty from the lack of practicing these past few years.
2 - I have very little experience with kid's shows.
3 - I don't have many platform/stage show style illusions/tricks.

I know there is a ton of advise everyone can give me, but I think what I need to know the most is:

1 - Are there any basic "Must Follow Rules" that I need to know.
2 - With a limited budget, is there 1 or 2 illusions/tricks that are recommended for kid's shows. I plan on adding a lot to my stash, but at this time, I am going through a very hard time and must be careful with my money.

Any help with this would be awesome. I have a good amount of time before the shows. I only agreed to the shows that I knew would give me time to practice and get ready for. Thanks in advance everyone!
Nicholas D. Nakao
Magician Site: www.n2illusions.com
Magician Social Site: www.n2illusions.mixxt.com
Email: info@n2illusions.com
Howie Diddot
View Profile
Inner circle
San Francisco & Los Angeles California
3288 Posts

Profile of Howie Diddot
I give lot’s of advice…. I also have lots of tricks….I am in San Francisco…and I think the Boy’s and Girl’s club is a great organization.