The Magic Café
Username:
Password:
[ Lost Password ]
  [ Forgot Username ]
The Magic Cafe Forum Index » » Where to put it all... » » What to do if you're a college student? (0 Likes) Printer Friendly Version

Nigromante
View Profile
New user
I predict that I will have
67 Posts

Profile of Nigromante
Hey all! I'm currently a college student living a small apartment. I was wondering what suggestions you might have for me in the following areas.

Storage: It seems like every nook and cranny I have to my name is full of stuff, so I have room for everything, but it seems impossible to organize it effectively.
Creation: Obviously some effects require workspace to create them, and some effects require things like power tools. I lack both of those right now, but would like to get them.

So has anyone been in my situation and found a creative solution? If so please let me know what you did. Thanks in advance for the help!
pepka
View Profile
Inner circle
Uh, I'm the one on the right.
5041 Posts

Profile of pepka
As far as organizing, I took a tip from Mike Close. Get several zip lock bags, 2 sizes. Organize them with ALL props and instructions each in it's own ziploc bag and label it. And then put 2 or 3 that work well together in a set in a larger bag. I keep mine in a big rubbermaid container.
Alan Munro
View Profile
Inner circle
Kentwood, Michigan, USA
5700 Posts

Profile of Alan Munro
When I was in college, I concentrated on only a few effects. It's better to be really good at performing a few effects, than to be a jack of all trades.

If the material was being swapped in and out of show cases, I keep them in pencil boxes in a catalog case, for close-up. Stand-up stuff would simply be kept in a road case for the show.
Mac_Stone
View Profile
Inner circle
Miami, FL
1037 Posts

Profile of Mac_Stone
Do material with props you can find anywhere, look into Bob Read's material.
rmann
View Profile
New user
Milton VT and a forum newbie with only
96 Posts

Profile of rmann