We Remember The Magic Café We Remember
Username:
Password:
[ Lost Password ]
  [ Forgot Username ]
The Magic Cafe Forum Index » » Ballooning 101 » » Balloon Breakage (0 Likes) Printer Friendly Version

Robynhood
View Profile
Regular user
Charleston, SC
166 Posts

Profile of Robynhood
I'm new to twisting and I'm having a great time, but lately I have had difficulty with my balloons busting while I'm practicing. I use Qualatex balloons but for the past few days I have had a hard time getting anything done because even simple twists are popping my balloons. It's hot here in SC and I know that will cause the balloons to expand more. Should I burp the balloons more so they won't be so tight, and hopefully not break as much? I know that there is no way around balloons breaking, but are there ways to help them from breaking so much?
Steve Yarosko
View Profile
Loyal user
285 Posts

Profile of Steve Yarosko
Welcome to twisting. When you are beginning, you will pop a lot of balloons. Don't get discouraged. It is part of the learning process. Yes, burp the balloons, stretch them out and squeeze them a bit before your next twist. With practice, you will learn to soften the balloons to greatly reduce poppage.
Robynhood
View Profile
Regular user
Charleston, SC
166 Posts

Profile of Robynhood
Thanks I appreciate it! Smile
Christopher Lyle
View Profile
Inner circle
Dallas, Texas
5699 Posts

Profile of Christopher Lyle
Steve is correct! SOFTEN and STRETCH them after you inflate them.

Here's a tip that I find helps quite a bit. Before each night of twisting, I will scrub the living heck out of my hands with a salt scrub to exfoliate my hands of dead skin and roughness. I also have an battery operated nail file http://www.amazon.com/Battery-Powered-Mi......04EUHR6M that make my nails smooth and soft as a baby's butt! This also helps with popping.