The Magic Café
Username:
Password:
[ Lost Password ]
  [ Forgot Username ]
The Magic Cafe Forum Index » » The words we use » » Writing a script (0 Likes) Printer Friendly Version

MagicGirl1536
View Profile
New user
15 Posts

Profile of MagicGirl1536
Hello
I am quite new to magic. How do you write a script for a trick? Do you have any advice?
Bella

:tallyred:
those who don't believe in magic won't find it- Roald Dahl
Jim Oliver
View Profile
Regular user
Las Cruces, New Mexico
141 Posts

Profile of Jim Oliver
Hello MagicGirl1536,

My best advice is to pick up a copy of Scripting Magic
by Pete McCabe.

It is a fantastic book that teaches you how to write a
professional looking script and gives dozens of good routines
that serve as examples.

I have been going thru my routines lately and re-scripting them
to follow his examples, and what a difference it makes.

It will be hard work but well worth it.

Best of luck,

Jim
Ed Marlo rules
link8822
View Profile
New user
Central Jersey, NJ
66 Posts

Profile of link8822
If you're into close-up magic, Jay Sankey also has some good advice in his book, "Beyond Secrets". It's available for $15 but I think it's also included in his new "Definitive Sankey" books.
Comedy Writer
View Profile
Special user
594 Posts

Profile of Comedy Writer
For a beginner, it might be better to talk through a handling..then remember what you said and write it down
ApprenticeWizard
View Profile
Regular user
Charlottesville, VA
170 Posts

Profile of ApprenticeWizard
My advice is don't try to script a trick. Aim to create a script for your whole program. In other words, try to think of an over-arching theme (e.g. the various magical skills you would probably need to learn if you were attending a school for genuine wizards who are learning to do real magic). Get hold of "Tales of Enchantment" by Walt Anthony and it may help you to realize that you need to do something more than just script a trick if you want a strong presentation.
Magically yours,