The Magic Caf
Username:
Password:
[ Lost Password ]
  [ Forgot Username ]
The Magic Cafe Forum Index » » Not very magical, still... » » Terms we use based on obsolete ideas (0 Likes) Printer Friendly Version

Go to page 1~2~3 [Next]
S2000magician
View Profile
Inner circle
Yorba Linda, CA
3465 Posts

Profile of S2000magician
First, a bit of background.

I've recently started lessons in earnest to learn jumping on horseback. The lessons start with learning to ride in what's called "two-point": standing in the stirrups and not sitting in the saddle. My instructor did say, however, that it's OK to put my hands on the horse's neck and put a little weight - say, 10 lbs. or so - on my hands to steady myself.

Being a mathematician, I look at almost everything as analogy, and this morning I thought about offensive players in football getting in a three-point stance. I can recall vividly the coach walking past players to inspect their stance; when he suspected that they had too much weight on their hand, he'd kick their hand away and watch as they (usually) fell face-first to the ground. (I generally made sure that I wasn't the guinea pig for any of the coaching sessions; I can also recall that when he came by and kicked my hand away, I remained upright, having had the opportunity to watch several teammates faceplant and having decided that I didn't want to follow suit.)

The other thing I recalled was his insistance that a lineman adopt the same stance whether the play was a run to his side (for which he would charge forward off the line) or a run to the opposite side or a pass (for which he would drop back off the line), so that his stance wouldn't telegraph the play to the defence.

Thus was born the idea of terms we use based on obsolete ideas.

We've had several threads about the things that children these days will never know: telephone booths, TV test patterns, whatever.