The Magic Café
Username:
Password:
[ Lost Password ]
  [ Forgot Username ]
The Magic Cafe Forum Index » » New to magic? » » Getting back into magic, help? (0 Likes) Printer Friendly Version

staythatway
View Profile
New user
4 Posts

Profile of staythatway
Hey everyone,

I am a college student, going to school for Theater Design & Production. In my earlier teenage years, I was really into magic. I collected lots of tricks, went to conventions, and went to Tannens Magic Camp. I was always really into card magic, and some mentalism stuff, and performing for friends. Unfortunately, in my transition from high school to college, I stopped doing magic. I don't remember much of what I used to do, and really fell out of the art.

I am not working much this summer and wanted to use my free time to try to get back into it, so I can have something on the side to show friends when I get back to school. I really would like to get back into impromptu card magic, and some small mentalism stuff.

I have been out of touch with the magic world for a long time now, and am looking for advice. Any DVDs, books, tricks that I should check out? I would really appreciate any advice on getting back into magic. Thanks everyone!
Father Photius
View Profile
Grammar Host
El Paso, TX (Formerly Amarillo)
17161 Posts

Profile of Father Photius
Mark Wilson Complete Course in Magic, Tarbells, Card College, Royal Road to Card Magic, Harry Lorayne's Magic Book, Corinda's 13 Steps to Mentalism, all should keep you busy for a while.
"Now here's the man with the 25 cent hands, that two bit magician..."
motown
View Profile
Inner circle
Atlanta by way of Detroit
6136 Posts

Profile of motown
The Card College 5 Vol. Set (books), Great resource.

Howard Hamburg's DVD

Jay Sankey has a lot of great stuff (both books and DVDs)
"If you ever write anything about me after I'm gone, I will come back and haunt you."
– Karl Germain
Yellowcustard
View Profile
Inner circle
New Zealand
1334 Posts