The Magic Café
Username:
Password:
[ Lost Password ]
  [ Forgot Username ]
The Magic Cafe Forum Index » » Ever so sleightly » » Do nickel-plated cups chip over time? (0 Likes) Printer Friendly Version

Merenkov
View Profile
Veteran user
389 Posts

Profile of Merenkov
Do nickel-plated and chrome-plated cups chip over time with normal use? Also, is there any particular advantage/disadvantage to nickel plating as compared to chrome plating for a set of copper cups?
Pete Biro
View Profile
1933 - 2018
18559 Posts

Profile of Pete Biro
Nickel looks nicer, chrome is too bright for me. I have a nickel plated set of cups I've been using for over 20 years and no nicks.
STAY TOONED... @ www.pete-biro.com
Merenkov
View Profile
Veteran user
389 Posts

Profile of Merenkov
Thanks Pete, all good to know. Bob White, in his C&B video, also mentions a preference for nickel-plating, asserting that the "bluish" tint of nickel-plating is superior to that of the "yellowish" chrome-plating. I've had a set of brass Johnson cups for years, but I've always wanted a set of shiny, silvery cups...
Pete Biro
View Profile
1933 - 2018
18559 Posts

Profile of Pete Biro
Find someone, other than a hot rod chrome shop to plate them for you.
Bill Palmer
View Profile
Eternal Order
Only Jonathan Townsend has more than
24223 Posts

Profile of Bill Palmer
Actually, the reverse is true about the color. Nickel looks yellowish. Chrome looks bluish. If it is done correctly, the nickel plate will last a long time; however, some people are allergic to nickel.

Most chrome plating is done over a coat of nickel.
"The Swatter"

Founder of CODBAMMC

My Chickasaw name is "Throws Money at Cups."

www.cupsandballsmuseum.com
Pete Biro
View Profile
1933 - 2018
18559 Posts

Profile of Pete Biro
I thought the color mentioned earlier was reversed. Thanks, Bill.
Motley Mage
View Profile
Special user
572 Posts

Profile of Motley Mage