The Magic Café
Username:
Password:
[ Lost Password ]
  [ Forgot Username ]
The Magic Cafe Forum Index » » The side walk shuffle » » How important is a theme? (0 Likes) Printer Friendly Version

djurmann
View Profile
Inner circle
thinks time to practice and stop writing
1481 Posts

Profile of djurmann
As you may know I am new to busking and it shows! I have a number of effects which work well but I am thinking of rejigging/rescripting some of them so that there is more of a theme running through the tricks. What I am less sure of is .....does it matter?

If you have time and are willing to answer,

Thank you.

Best wishes,

Danny
FunTimeAl
View Profile
Special user
987 Posts

Profile of FunTimeAl
Watch a lot of stand up comedy. Some have themes, some don't. Then, remember we're not stand up comics and adapt.
Ekuth
View Profile
Inner circle
Floating above my
1538 Posts

Profile of Ekuth
I would say VERY important. At least in the way that the effects flow together, if that's what you're asking.

Example:

I have a coin set (act) that starts with Continous Coins, then moves to Coins Across, which then moves to Matrix. At that point, I can finish the set by using another coin effect or, since the cards have already been introduced, move to card effects.

Dariel Fitzkee in "Showmanship for Magicians" goes into some depth on this idea, as do others; but that should give you enough to get the idea.

Just look for effects which either tie into each other with a theme, prop or effect. That's not to say you should do the same TYPE of effect one after another; that's a sure way to kill your show.

I'm sleep deprived, but I think that makes sense? Smile
"All you need is in Fitzkee."
djurmann
View Profile
Inner circle
1481 Posts

Profile of djurmann
Hi Ekuth,

Hope you had a profitable evening and that things on all fronts are looking up. Thank you to you and to Al!