The Magic Café
Username:
Password:
[ Lost Password ]
  [ Forgot Username ]
The Magic Cafe Forum Index » » Tricky business » » Performing name? (0 Likes) Printer Friendly Version

Herr Brian Tabor
View Profile
Special user
Oklahoma City
729 Posts

Profile of Herr Brian Tabor
I am getting ready, for the first time, to start doing magic professionally. I've done magic since I was 6, I am 26 now. I get offers all the time to do shows, but never take them. I am a college student, and both of my knees are bad, so regular jobs are very difficult for me. My wife wants me to pursue this too, so I'm going to. However, I'm wondering what you guys think about using your real name versus a stage name? My real name is Brian Tabor. I have thought that I want a name that will be easy to remember, and I don't want to be another "magic steve" so to speak. I want a name that can be remembered, so that repeat bookings are easier, etc. My wife and I played around quite a bit with ideas, and decided to play on the fact that I'm bald. (I shave my head). It started as cueball, then cue, then Q. Q the magician. The idea here is that it plays for adults and children shows alike, and is easy to remember for clients who later want to re-hire. Q is easy to remember, and sounds mysterious, or magician-like to me. On the other hand, there was a rather popular character on a TV show called Q once.

Several of my friends and family like the name, and say it fits my performing style.

What do you guys think?

And be honest, if you like it, you like it, if you don't, you don't. I'm not going to get offended if you don't, I need honest feedback.
MichaelDouglas
View Profile
Special user
Portland, Oregon
766 Posts

Profile of MichaelDouglas
Repeat bookings will be more influenced by the quality of your entertainment than the name you use.

I might suggest Professor Q, Mr. Q, or Dr. Q for your kids shows and just Q for when you market yourself for shows for adults.
Countage
View Profile
Veteran user