The Magic Café
Username:
Password:
[ Lost Password ]
  [ Forgot Username ]
The Magic Cafe Forum Index » » New to magic? » » New to Mentalism (0 Likes) Printer Friendly Version

LobstaJohnson
View Profile
New user
48 Posts

Profile of LobstaJohnson
Hey everyone! I'm not new to magic (started with Top Hat Magic in 1965) but I am new to mentalism...

I have to do a radio bit on a national radio show soon and we're going to talk about debunking "psychics" and discussing the technique of cold reading. I actually have a pro magician who will do a cold reading without claiming psychic powers, but I'd like to do a VERY STRONG mentalism trick for the hosts just to show how magicians can do amazing things that appear to require "extrasensory powers".

I can do spoon bending (I do liquid metal 2.0 right now) but I'd like to do something a bit more verbal for the radio and wondered if the Magic Café crowd could point me in the right direction.

I have looked at Outlaw book tests and a ton of stuff at Penguin, but finding that one trick that will 1) blow their minds and 2) I'm unlikely to screw up when I'm nervous on the air and 3) is angle free (people will be in front and behind me) will cost me a lot if I do trial and error.

I have Psypher and plan on using it if I can figure out a way to peek without anyone seeing me.

Any ideas? I'll give you credit on the air, too! Smile

your friend,

Lobsta

PS: if you think this would be better posted in the Mentalism Section, please let me know! Smile
--
<BR>credo che tutti gli uomini siano fratelli
Kozzi
View Profile
New user
50 Posts

Profile of Kozzi
You can send them an envelope weeks in advance to be opened whilst you're on air. Inside is a slip of paper with the day's newspaper headline.

It'd be angle proof if you use a b****t k***e. Corinda's 13 steps will set you in the right direction if that is tempting - an oldie but a goodie.
LobstaJohnson
View Profile
New user
48 Posts

Profile of LobstaJohnson