The Magic Café
Username:
Password:
[ Lost Password ]
  [ Forgot Username ]
The Magic Cafe Forum Index » » Table hoppers & party strollers » » Some hints for my first gig... (0 Likes) Printer Friendly Version

Go to page 1~2 [Next]
wafflesthemagician
View Profile
New user
Vancouver, Canada
73 Posts

Profile of wafflesthemagician
Hi there! I'm a young magician who's been doing magic for two-ish years. Bits of everything, but mostly Micro Magic. I've got a gig for a wedding this summer, and I now realize that I've never done table hopping before! It's supposed to be about 30 tables, with 10 people at each table. I understand that I'm supposed to know ~ 9-10 tricks, so I can have 3 "routines", with ~3 tricks each. I'm not really worried about my people skills / approach, but I'm just wondering how long would be appropriate for me to stay at each table, and if anybody has any good suggestions for any more tricks. I've got my own, but I'm open to more suggestions. I'm mostly looking for magic that happens in their hands. I've got 5 tricks that happen in their hands, so far. My list of "tricks" / routines so far:

Routine 1, Choices: The theme to this routine is the Choices we make, as people. Open with a self working trick that makes them end up with the four aces in hand, and for the second and third, I'm using a slop shuffle trick, that sets up the deck for Wandering Travellers.

Routine 2, The History Lesson: The patter is about the history of magic, and a demonstration of practical uses. Start with a 21 card trick that involves the spectators, with patter about the Chinese origin of the deck of cards (which had 21 cards). I've got an open space for the second trick here. For the third, I've got a Biddle Trick, showing a practical example of magic used by merchants in India.