The Magic Café
Username:
Password:
[ Lost Password ]
  [ Forgot Username ]
The Magic Cafe Forum Index » » I'm a real boy! » » Puppets or Dummies? (0 Likes) Printer Friendly Version

bearT
View Profile
New user
Chesterfield UK
23 Posts

Profile of bearT
It's about 3 weeks since I decided to learn ventriloquism, and almost as long since I found this forum, so I'm still learning and have a hell of a lot still to learn and discover Smile

What I found is the variety of puppets/dummies available and the variety of prices charged for them.

So does anyone else think of cost when buying their character, does this make a difference to what you buy or do you just save up and get what you really want...

What got me into vent 3 weeks ago (although I've been interested a lot longer but didn't do anything about it then) was when we were given a 3boxes of soft toys for the dogs, and while the wife and I were sorting through them I came across a puppet and told the wife there was know way the dogs were having that Smile
It's a Bear made by Peeko

OK it isn't a £1000 dummy but I see it as a way of getting started, it's also got quite a cute face Smile

A week later I came across an Orangutan by the same firm for £13 (inc postage)

I've since given him a nose ring, ear ring and a hat to add a bit of character

I'm pretty certain kids puppets aren't really the way to go but I think they will be good to learn with, what does everyone else think?
Aussie
View Profile
Special user
Australia
623 Posts

Profile of Aussie
Nina Conti uses a soft toy puppet that has now been discontinued. I'm sure it only cost her a few dollars.

Really it doesn't matter what you spend on your puppet/figure because ventriloquism is more than just about a puppet and lip control. It is about bringing life to an inanimate object. Have you seen Dan Horn's first Orson? That puppet was a heck of a lot uglier than what you have yet Dan forged a very successful career with him.