The Magic Café
Username:
Password:
[ Lost Password ]
  [ Forgot Username ]
The Magic Cafe Forum Index » » Not very magical, still... » » Downsizing... (0 Likes) Printer Friendly Version

Dennis Michael
View Profile
Inner circle
Southern, NJ
6018 Posts

Profile of Dennis Michael
Has anyone downsized and sold most of their magic. If so, Why did you? And, how did you sell it? Ebay? Craighlist? Café? Magic Club Auction?

I realize I have thousands of dollars of unused stuff, mostly props, illusions, books, kids magic and they are brand new. My kids are grown and out of the "Big" house and if I move they can't go with me because there would not be any room for them. A list of items would be in the hundreds.

Any thoughts?
Dennis Michael
Bob1Dog
View Profile
Inner circle
Wife: It's me or this houseful of
1159 Posts

Profile of Bob1Dog
I'll never get back what I paid out for my "magic".... But I didn't buy it to sell or make money when I originally purchased my "stuff".

I'm not a pro like most of y'all but I love my hobby and I perform occasionally, even for money! That said, I've got a lot of stuff and am thinking along the same lines as you are; it's time to move "stuff" on. But it's not easy. I'm waiting for a budding magician in my family to rise to the occasion, but it just ain't happening. I'd give it all to him/her.

I'm retired from corporate and holding on to my treasured magical possessions, but unless I can find a likely family member to leave it all to, I'll probably just donate it to some local magic club somewhere. Not even another looming fiscal cliff crisis, which is months away, would force me to sell my stuff.

I'd rather donate every bit of it than sell to some slimeball who will buy low and profit from my loss.
What if the Hokey Pokey really IS what it's all about? Smile

My neighbor rang my doorbell at 2:30 a.m. this morning, can you believe that, 2:30 a.m.!? Lucky for him I was still up playing my drums.
Dennis Michael
View Profile
Inner circle