The Magic Café
Username:
Password:
[ Lost Password ]
  [ Forgot Username ]
The Magic Cafe Forum Index » » Our new arrivals » » I'v Had An Odd Training Ground (0 Likes) Printer Friendly Version

Bob Johnston
View Profile
Inner circle
Philadelphia, PA
1251 Posts

Profile of Bob Johnston
I have had an odd training ground for magic. For over 45 years I have been a professional photographer doing mostly school work. I have been shooting opening color sections for yearbooks in colleges and High Schools as well as the group and candid work. This has entailed spending days in a school roaming classrooms and hallways with a few of my yearbook staff kids.

It has given me the opportunity (necessity) to spend a lot of time talking with students in both private and public schools. I have always done impromptu magic as I roam the schools, and my “photo jackets” have provided me with ample “pocket management” for magic.

I started doing more formal magic shows in class rooms about 30 years ago and small stage and walk-around jobs shortly afterwards. I was very lucky to have been able to sit with kids in the lunchrooms of the schools after doing a paid show to find out what they liked and did not like. It changed the way I evaluated what was working well or not so well. I was still doing this until about two years ago when approaching blindness started taking over my life.

I still do magic, but have to limit it to smaller venues like small parties. I still do work with teachers in classroom magic for History and Psychology classes. And I will always do Special Ed classes without charge whenever asked. I also spend some time in a magic shop teaching and demonstrating magic.

Nice meeting you all,

Bob Johnston

(Wellington is my user name here on the forum and the name of my rabbit…Wellington is the one the kids remember.)
Smile
Emily Belleranti
View Profile
Veteran user
Tucson, Arizona
349 Posts

Profile of Emily Belleranti
Hi Bob!

Welcome to the Café!