The Magic Café
Username:
Password:
[ Lost Password ]
  [ Forgot Username ]
The Magic Cafe Forum Index » » New to magic? » » How Many Hours of Practice? (0 Likes) Printer Friendly Version

Go to page 1~2 [Next]
dduaine
View Profile
New user
8 Posts

Profile of dduaine
Quick question for card-workers; how much do you folks practice on a daily basis? I find that about twice a week, I'll sit down for three or four hours spread out over a day. Then, during the rest of the week, I'll do any where between 30 and 40 minutes of practice.

How about you?

Er, I should have said thirty or forty minutes daily for the rest of the week. Not thirty or forty minutes total for the rest of the week. Heh.

I'm finding my progress with the basics very slow moving. Example, I've been working on the first chapter of RRTCM for the last two months. And still, I don't feel like I'm at a place where I can move on to the next chapter. Maybe I'm expecting too much? Or maybe just not practicing enough? Any ideas?
funnybusiness
View Profile
New user
UK
66 Posts

Profile of funnybusiness
I don't really know because I'll play with my deck of cards whenever I'm watching TV or on the phone. It’s a good idea too, because I don't force myself to practice, it just happens!! Smile
espalding
View Profile
New user
St. Louis
59 Posts

Profile of espalding
I haven't worked with cards much recently, but I do have RRTCM, and one thing I found about me is that I liked to have several moves to practice, so that if I got caught with one, I could switch to something else. It seemed to help exercise several sets of muscles too. So I tackled RRTCM a couple of chapters at a time, not waiting to be perfect with any one chapter.

Also, like funnybusiness I didn't set aside time for practicing. I just kept a deck handy, and played with it when I wasn't really doing anything else.

But that's just me.

Eric.
Dbzkid999
View Profile
Elite user
Canada
407 Posts

Profile of Dbzkid999
I practice every day.