The Magic Café
Username:
Password:
[ Lost Password ]
  [ Forgot Username ]
The Magic Cafe Forum Index » » F/X » » 9v batteries - best quality? (0 Likes) Printer Friendly Version

scottds80
View Profile
Special user
Victoria, Australia
730 Posts

Profile of scottds80
Hey guys,

What 9v battery is best to use in my headset mic?
Energizer or Duracell?
Should I use a battery tester to see how many times I can use each battery before it dies mid-show?
I refuse to use rechargeables as I read they can be very unreliable and die quickly.
Thanks
Scott
"Great Scott the Magician", Gippsland
Regan
View Profile
Inner circle
U.S.A.
5696 Posts

Profile of Regan
Scott, I always use fresh Duracell batteries in my headset mic. However, I think any of the top brand name batteries are fine....just make sure they are alkaline. The big 3 for me are Duracell, Energizer, and Rayovac. (Not in that particular order) I am a musician, so I have a lot of experience with batteries. Rayovac batteries are less expensive than Duracell or Energizer batteries and I have found that they last just as long, if not longer in some cases.
Mister Mystery
Amazing Magic Co
View Profile
Inner circle
1679 Posts

Profile of Amazing Magic Co
I replace my batteries every weekend. I couldn't tell you how long they last but I always purchase either Duracell or Energizer.

Dan.
Stevethomas
View Profile
Inner circle
Southern U.S.A.
3728 Posts

Profile of Stevethomas
There are some industrial-strength 9v batteries that are recommended by the instructions of some older Collector's Workshop effects. Not sure where one would go about purchasing them in a hometown setting.

Steve
gothike
View Profile
Elite user
458 Posts

Profile of gothike
Personally, I had a Sennheiser 9v transmitter and receiver and the battery life was 2-3 hours or 2 shows. It was $5.00 for two 9v batteries. Every two shows I was paying $5.00 and it was adding up fast. When I realized my battery expense was over $250 I looked at another solution.