The Magic Café
Username:
Password:
[ Lost Password ]
  [ Forgot Username ]
The Magic Cafe Forum Index » » Oldies... but goodies! » » Aldini Bowl Vanish (0 Likes) Printer Friendly Version

61magic
View Profile
Special user
Seaside, CA
758 Posts

Profile of 61magic
I'm working on rounding out my Mak collection. On page 114 of catalog #4 the Aldine Bowl Vanish is listed. I believe this is a Mak version of the Gwynne flip over vanish but I'm not sure.
Any of you Mak collectors or experts know anything about the history of this prop or how many were produced let me know. History is helpful when tracing down a prop like this.
Professor J. P. Fawkes
Michael Baker
View Profile
Eternal Order
Near a river in the Midwest
11161 Posts

Profile of Michael Baker
I am not an expert on this particular MAK prop, but I think it may have been inspired by a bowl vanish that Okito created. See the Albo series for info on that.
~michael baker
The Magic Company
Moxahalla
View Profile
Special user
Los Angeles
725 Posts

Profile of Moxahalla
Do you mean the "ALDINI Bowl Vanish"???? -------Aldini's IMPROVEMENT over the "Westgate Bowl Vanish".

BTW---The Westgate/Aldini Bowl Vanish has NOTHING to do with the "flip-over box method".
hugmagic
View Profile
Inner circle
7376 Posts

Profile of hugmagic
Abbott's also made a bowl vanish. Since UF Grant worked for them it was probably invented by him when he worked there.

It is nothing like the Westgate bowl. More like the take apart dove vanish.
Richard E. Hughes, Hughes Magic Inc., 352 N. Prospect St., Ravenna, OH 44266 (330)296-4023
www.hughesmagic.com
email-hugmagic@raex.com
Write direct as I will be turning off my PM's.
Moxahalla
View Profile
Special user
Los Angeles
725 Posts

Profile of Moxahalla
In my above post, I was only thinking about the better-known "ALDINI Bowl PRODUCTION" (an improvement over the "Westgate" Bowl Production).....I was NOT thinking of a Bowl VANISH....