The Magic Café
Username:
Password:
[ Lost Password ]
  [ Forgot Username ]
The Magic Cafe Forum Index » » New to magic? » » The issue of over exposed tricks (0 Likes) Printer Friendly Version

Cubby199
View Profile
New user
64 Posts

Profile of Cubby199
I'm completely new to magic and illusions. I've always dreamed of making my own trick (difficult as I don't enjoy mentalism tricks). However I am always on the lookout in libraries and online for cool new illusions that don't cost too much to make. However it frustrates me sometimes when a really beautiful trick is exposed on YouTube. Take the zombie ball trick; every new magician can bring new life to this trick and make it look beautiful. However people who have seen how it has been done will skimpily pass it off. I find myself astounded by every new application that trick brings. However in a stage magic setting what happens when you use a trick people might already know? This would be great to know.

Also how does one find the tricks cheep yet well of the beaten path? Personally I prefer tricks that actually require skill (I'd feel like I was cheating the audience with the "vanishing" candle trick). Also in my quest to make my own tricks where should I start? Any books?

Thanks
Now you're looking for the secret. But you won't find it because of course, you're not really looking. You don't really want to work it out. You want to be fooled.
-The Prestige (my favorite movie)
Robin4Kids
View Profile
Veteran user
Lower Alabama
396 Posts

Profile of Robin4Kids