The Magic Café
Username:
Password:
[ Lost Password ]
  [ Forgot Username ]
The Magic Cafe Forum Index » » I'm a real boy! » » Ventriloquism in restaurant (0 Likes) Printer Friendly Version

asgar
View Profile
Elite user
401 Posts

Profile of asgar
I just got a job in a chain restaurant to do ventriloquism ,juggling and balloon animals.I am no expert vent but I am the only one in the city and I am improving.They already have a magician working on the weekends so I have to work 2 days in the mid of the week.This is great because most of the Bday shows are in the weekends.I will have a chance to hone my skill too.They want me to do it in all the brunches and magic in a different brunch in future.Restaurant magic is not new to me at all but this is totally new.Any tips?
Magic is believing in yourself, if you can do that, you can make anything happen.
KeithS
View Profile
Elite user
449 Posts

Profile of KeithS
Hi Asgar,

Sounds like a cool gig. It may be a good opportunity to drum up future shows. Is this a strolling gig, in which you'll be walking around the restaurant interacting with patrons, or will you actually be on a stage to do your act? Both present opportunities and challenges in a restaurant setting. If it's a strolling gig, I would suggest the following:

- Use a puppet that is acceptable to both adults and children. I'd suggest using a soft animal puppet, not a traditional hard figure (whether we like it or not, many folks, both young and old, just don't like those "weird/scary looking dummies"). Plus, if you're carrying your puppet around for an extended amount of time, a lighter puppet will be less taxing.

- Have a few quick and funny exchanges between you and your partner that you can use with a variety of the people at different tables throughout the place. They should clearly articulate your character and be amusing and squeaky clean (assuming it's a family restaurant).