The Magic Café
Username:
Password:
[ Lost Password ]
  [ Forgot Username ]
The Magic Cafe Forum Index » » Our new arrivals » » Hello! (0 Likes) Printer Friendly Version

Remarkable Marco
View Profile
Veteran user
When I grow up, I want to have
355 Posts

Profile of Remarkable Marco
Hi there,
my name is Marco, and I am just getting started with mentalism. My story is probably different from that of most around here. I am a full time professor who teaches various topics in humanities at Indiana University, Bloomington. I have studied history of magic from a cultural point of view for a period, and published about it at the academic level. At one time, that was actually my main academic interest. Then one day, recently, a realization dawned on me: why not trying to actually DO the stuff myself?? So, after reading the basics and watching the required DVD's, I started practicing mentalist features, mainly in a one-on-one context with friends. I am not trying to become a pro, because that seems quite unrealistic at this point in life for me, but would love to become a skilled amateur who has fun with the effects, understands the psychology behind them better by performing, and entertains friends and people at local events (like with book tests and book-based effects at events at the town library). Instilling in my students the idea that I can read minds seems like a good bonus too! On the minus side, I am starting much older than most (I am over 35), and without being comfortable with even the most basic sleights of hand (yet!); on the plus side, thanks to my academic experience I am used to speak in public in front of large audiences, I know about the psychology and practice of communication, and I have knowledge and great respect for the history of the discipline. Well, we'll see how this goes!!!