The Magic Café
Username:
Password:
[ Lost Password ]
  [ Forgot Username ]
The Magic Cafe Forum Index » » Tricky business » » Consulting (0 Likes) Printer Friendly Version

jtmorris
View Profile
Regular user
Canada
158 Posts

Profile of jtmorris
Hi all,
So I'm a part time professional magician in my area, and I've been asked to consult on a theater show at one of our local Universities. They need help with two simple effects (levitation of a small doll and moving a chair-both fairly easy) however what should I charge - having never consulted before?

As background, I've been doing shows since 2002, and I do mostly corporate work. I have an education degree in theatre, and I direct a small play myself every November.

I'm find out more about what he is looking for, but is this a charge by the hour sort of thing or a lump sum for the project? And then how much would you charge for each of these scenarios? I know that markets are different and project involvement differs, but I'm just curious about a starting point or range to begin from. Have you consulted? What did you charge your first time?
"Looks like a camera trick!" "I had to watch it 5 times before I...still didn't figure it out" - COINTUM-LEAP

Unbelievable, visual, simple, and motivated mix of cards and coins. COINTUM-LEAP
Jesse Lewis
View Profile
Loyal user
227 Posts

Profile of Jesse Lewis
Hey JTmorris

It really depends what you want to charge but I have a thought for you, if this is a local theater show and you are wanting to get in with them to perform as well, why not do it for trade of the theater for a night? then put on a show and you keep the profits?

It could be lucarative for you if you promote properly and is an in to get great footage and publicity. Considering your area you should be able to bring in a decent crowd with some good promotion.

Jesse
Learn how to build a bigger business at www.showbizsuccesssecrets.com
Mindpro
View Profile
Eternal Order
10619 Posts

Profile of Mindpro