The Magic Caf
Username:
Password:
[ Lost Password ]
  [ Forgot Username ]
The Magic Cafe Forum Index » » New to magic? » » Re-starting magic? (0 Likes) Printer Friendly Version

Creanada
View Profile
New user
47 Posts

Profile of Creanada
I'm guessing this is the right place to post this, because I could be classed as a beginner.
I started learning magic around 6 months ago but stopped after a couple of months for various reasons. Now I want to start again but I'm not sure where to learn from. I've learned most of your basic sleights from an Illusionist video and I recently aquired the Huggard books, RRTCM and so on along with a Richard Kaufman, Basic Card Magic video.
Thanks for the help, and Merry Christmas to all!
Michael
dreidy
View Profile
Regular user
Sydney, Australia
156 Posts

Profile of dreidy
If you can, learn from another magician. When I got back into magic I found that one of the local stores ran magic classes, so I enrolled in them. Not only do you get to learn some effects with hands-on assistance, but you alsoe get to meet other local magicians; I've learned just as much from them as I did from the lessons.

If you can't find a local shop, what about one of the magic societies, most of them will accept serious beginners.

David.
treysdaddy
View Profile
New user
92 Posts

Profile of treysdaddy
The Mark Wilson Complete Course in Magic was the first book I bought and still refer to it regularly. It will show you the basics in many different areas of magic. It is also pretty inexpensive at around $20.
Bill
Paul
View Profile
Inner circle
A good lecturer at your service!
4409 Posts

Profile of Paul
I'll second this recommendation. The book has recently been republished and gives a good grounding in all areas of magic. It is well written and illustrated and was more expensive when it was first released. You can't go wrong with this book. Amazon can supply.

Paul.
Chout
View Profile
New user
52 Posts

Profile of Chout