The Magic Café
Username:
Password:
[ Lost Password ]
  [ Forgot Username ]
The Magic Cafe Forum Index » » Polly wants a cracker... » » Should I get in to Dove magic or..? (1 Likes) Printer Friendly Version

Go to page 1~2 [Next]
Zephury
View Profile
Elite user
Hollywood, FL
488 Posts

Profile of Zephury
I'm an amateur, but I am fully committed with a dream of going large, lots of dedication, many, many hours of practicing. Just curious on what your guy's standpoint is on Doves. At what point in a magician's career or practice should he or she get involved with Doves? Is it a very advanced stage of magic or is it the same as tackling playing cards.. just with the added affection, and care for the doves of course. In no means am I tying the part of maintaining them in to this. I have pets and I love them all just as much as my family. What I'm trying to ask is.. is it most likely too advanced for me? So far all I've touched is cards, coins, thumb tips, and a few more close-up props. Is there more that I should experience before getting involved in to doves or magic with a different animal? I'm still sort of deciding on what animal I will do magic with but Dove seems to be in the lead so far. Bunny is in second. Any pros and cons to the two? Which can provide more impressive stunts based on your opinion? Though, I will assume doves considering that I've heard rabbits are very stationary in magic but I could be wrong, please correct me if I am. Let me know what I'm walking in to, please! It will probably be a few months before I actually take the step of getting an animal for performing though and I have a lot of time to decide, plan and learn. Please set me in the right direction.

Just a few misc. questions..

Do people use owl's for magic? If so, can you PLEASE link me a video of it. Are they practical?

What are some other out of the ordinary animals that people use for magic?
Dave Scribner
View Profile
Assistant Manager
Lake Hopatcong, NJ
5081 Posts