The Magic Café
Username:
Password:
[ Lost Password ]
  [ Forgot Username ]
The Magic Cafe Forum Index » » New to magic? » » BEGINNERS LIST (0 Likes) Printer Friendly Version

JoshTmagic
View Profile
Loyal user
Illinois
265 Posts

Profile of JoshTmagic
Hey guys although I am new to the café I am not new to magic but I did think of this post that could help some beginners there is probably already a post like this but I decided that this would be a cool idea to help some of the newbies to magic! so in your post below list
3 effects gimmicked, no gimmick, coin magic, card magic anything just 3 tricks you recommend for a beginner
3 books you recommend
and 1 tip to make any beginners start to magic a little easier and less stressful

Have Fun And thanks for Posting!!
adrianbent
View Profile
Loyal user
210 Posts

Profile of adrianbent
3 effects gimmicked:
The Svengali deck
Scotch 'n Soda (gimmicked Coin trick)
Pen through Dollar Bill (gimmicked Pen)

3 effects non-gimmicked:
Hot Rod (Paddle trick)
Sponge Balls
Cups and Balls

3 books for a beginner:
Mark Wilson's Complete course in Magic
Magic for Dummies
Joshua Jay's ebook "Over - Under"

1 tip: Start strategically making real any dream you have of performing now. Join a magic club. Consider how you can perform often and try to start doing it!
motown
View Profile
Inner circle
Atlanta by way of Detroit
6009 Posts

Profile of motown
- Professors Nightmare (an excellent rope effect)

- Invisible Deck

- Glorpy

3 Books:

- Harry Lorayne's Magic Book
- Mysterio's Encylopedia of Magic and Conjuring (contains many classic effects)
- Card College Vol. 1

Don't get caught up in trying to buy the latest effect.
"If you ever write anything about me after I'm gone, I will come back and haunt you."
– Karl Germain
Zephury
View Profile
Elite user
Hollywood, FL
488 Posts

Profile of Zephury
3 Effects:
Hopping Halves
Stripper Deck
Scotch and Soda

Books:
J.B Bobo's Modern Coin Magic
Tarbell's Course in Magic
Card College Vol.1