The Magic Café
Username:
Password:
[ Lost Password ]
  [ Forgot Username ]
The Magic Cafe Forum Index » » New to magic? » » Should I get these books? (0 Likes) Printer Friendly Version

Go to page 1~2 [Next]
3 of clubs_103
View Profile
New user
30 Posts

Profile of 3 of clubs_103
Hello,
This is my first post on the Magic Café, so please forgive me if this is in the wrong place.
I have only been doing magic for three years, so I am still a beginner. I am thinking about buying the following books all together at once:

Expert card technique- Jean Hugard and Fredrick Braue
Card Control- Arthur Buckley
The Royal Road to Card Magic- Jean Hugard and Fredrick Braue
Encyclopedia of Card Tricks- Jean Hugard
Scarne on Card Tricks- John Scarne
Card Manipulations- Jean Hugard

I currently own the following books:

The Art of Astonishment Vol. 1-3- Paul Harris
Mark Wilson's Complete Course in Magic- Mark Wilson
Stars of Magic- Various Contributors
Tarbell Course in Magic Vol. 1-4- Dr. Harlan Tarbell
The Expert at the card table- S.W. Erdnase
Counts, Cuts, Moves, and Subtlety- Jerry Mentzer
Close up, French Style- Bernard Bilis
Handbook of Card Slights- Al Leech

I can do a majority of the tricks and slights from the books that I own, and I was wondering if I would get a lot out of the books that I want to buy.

Also, I would like to know of any recommendations of books that you have. I am mainly interested in close up magic.

Thanks for all the help.
Ihop
View Profile
Inner circle
Glen Spey, NY
1604 Posts

Profile of Ihop
Wow! If you can do a majority of the tricks & slights from the books you listed, you're really good.
The question is, "can you do them well?"
Ihor
3 of clubs_103
View Profile
New user
30 Posts

Quote:
On 2014-02-18 10:16, Ihop wrote:
Wow! If you can do a majority of the tricks & slights from the books you listed, you're really good.
The question is, "can you do them well?"