The Magic Café
Username:
Password:
[ Lost Password ]
  [ Forgot Username ]
The Magic Cafe Forum Index » » Our new arrivals » » Howdy from Texas (0 Likes) Printer Friendly Version

lotcaster
View Profile
Regular user
Texas
151 Posts

Profile of lotcaster
I am a library director in Texas (Dallas-Fort Worth area). Prior to that I was a children's and teen librarian. I have also been a reference librarian, an IT librarian, and a city software trainer. I was a contract programmer/developer for large corporations for about 8 years prior to entering the library world, and a cultural anthropology grad student before that.

I have been a storyteller for about a decade now, and have done a lot of puppetry, as well. These days I mainly perform in my official capacity as a librarian, but I also do it in my spare time, generally for schools, other libraries, and non-profits of various types. In the early 2000s I was lucky to be given the opportunity to help set up a children's library in Thailand. I was there for about 5 weeks, and got to do a lot of storytelling with the kids who attended the school (they taught English there). I developed a love of shadow puppetry while there, and ended up doing a lot of it once I became a librarian, in addition to doing workshops for kids and adults.

I have just started learning magic, both to enhance my other performances and to eventually start doing children's magic shows. In addition to children's magic, I am interested in bizarre magic, primarily as a hobby - something to do for friends and family.

I have really enjoyed reading the various posts on the Magic Café. It has been a great source of information, and I am particularly grateful for all the book and video suggestions that people post. I have been able to put together a nice beginner's reading list as a result, and am currently spending my time working through that.

Thanks!

Jesse
Mary Mowder
View Profile
Inner circle
Sacramento / Elk Grove, CA
3661 Posts