The Magic Café
Username:
Password:
[ Lost Password ]
  [ Forgot Username ]
The Magic Cafe Forum Index » » Ever so sleightly » » What makes a great performer? (31 Likes) Printer Friendly Version

Go to page 1~2~3~4~5 [Next]
Al Schneider
View Profile
V.I.P.
A corn field in WI surrounded by
1080 Posts

Profile of Al Schneider
In reading some of these threads lately, I have seen several say something to the effect, "It aint what you do, its how you do it."

Often, how you do it is not addressed.

I am a technician. I strive for mechanical perfection. However, I have found out something else. "If the audience doesn't like you, they won't like your magic." Worse than that, if they don't like you, they won't be fooled or at least will not admit to it.

I believe great performers study the details of all of this. I have heard some say to just get in their face and do it. It seems their idea is that if you simply hide the coin and tell them its magic, you are amazing.

Here are some things I think are important. I am curious what principles other might have.

Interesting vs. Interested.
I have a long battle with this. I have presented it at lectures and have had magicins catch me in the hall later to challenge this idea. The point is this. If you are interested in the welfare of the audience the audience will care about you and enjoy your performance. If you are trying to be interesting to your audience, the audience won't care. There is a fine line between these two perspectives Curiously, those magicians interested in the welfare of the audience understand this concept. Those that want to be interesting, the kind that says, "Here's a quarter, now its gone, your'e stupid," don't get it.