The Magic Café
Username:
Password:
[ Lost Password ]
  [ Forgot Username ]
The Magic Cafe Forum Index » » New to magic? » » Keeping cards good ? (0 Likes) Printer Friendly Version

Go to page 1~2 [Next]
J773
View Profile
New user
Belgium
56 Posts

Profile of J773
When you are doing some sleights, some or all of the cards get a little (or a lot, when you're a beginner) bend.
So I have a few question for all you fine magicians out there :

1. How do you get your deck good ?
2. On average, how long does a deck last ?
3. Do you just buy new decks all the time ?
4. How many training decks should I have ?
JackDaniel
View Profile
Veteran user
nevada
376 Posts

Profile of JackDaniel
1. After each training session place the cards between two heavy books or something, this will keep them nice for a while.

2. Depends, after attending a McBride lecture, the slights I started practicing wore heavily on my deck, the first one lasted about 2 weeks.

3. Yes, Fortune enough to have friends in the business, so I pay about $2 for a new pack of Bikes.

4. You should have at least three:
-one with fanning powder for spreads'n stuff.
-one for sleight practice (DL, Passes etc).
-One for replacement of cards (mercury cardfold,cardwarp, torn'n restored).

Perform with your Sleight deck or get a crisp one, but get 'em all in the same color, for switches, replacement of cards and so on...

P.S. Mine are all red.
Jack.
Visit the magic of Vegas and your life will change forever..
Emily Belleranti
View Profile
Veteran user
Tucson, Arizona
349 Posts

Profile of Emily Belleranti
1. I wash my hands before I practice or rehearse. I also often do what Jack Daniel does: I place my cards between a couple of heavy books.

2. A deck of cards usually lasts somewhere from a week to two weeks for me.

3. It seems like I buy cards just about every time I see some being sold for a good price. I always have about five or six unopened packs of cards in my room.