The Magic Café
Username:
Password:
[ Lost Password ]
  [ Forgot Username ]
The Magic Cafe Forum Index » » New to magic? » » A fantastic funfact to put in your patter (0 Likes) Printer Friendly Version

yngvem
View Profile
New user
8 Posts

Profile of yngvem
I am studying physics at university level, and one day I sat down and thought about some math about a deck of cards and figured out something really cool. It is 52 different cards, so when you shuffle the cards there are quite a lot different outcomes possible. Actually (and bear with me I will explain why this is so cool soon) 8*10^67 different positions the cards can be in. For everyone who isn't that good at math that is the number 8 with 67 zeros behind it. So there are a LOT of different outcomes. If you add the jokers it is the number 2 with 71 zeros behind it.

Now you ask, why is this so cool? Well because the number of atoms in the milky way is somewhere around a one with 68 zeros behind.
So a shuffled deck with two jokers inside actually have more different possible outcomes than the number of atoms in the milky way. This is amazing and I have found it to be a fantastic thing to say as the spectator shuffles the deck to make them sure that there is no way for me to know the order of the cards.

I hope you found this as interesting as me.

PS.
I have no idea where to put this, but since people who are new to magic (myself included) need help creating patter for tricks I found this to be the best place. If anyone has a better idea please contact a mod (and also tell me Smile ) and ask them to move it Smile

PPS.
Sources for those interested:
http://www.quora.com/Astrophysics/How-ma......y-galaxy
54! = 2.308437e+71 (Google calc)
52! = 8.0658175e+67 (Google calc)
Stanyon
View Profile
Inner circle
Landrum, S.C. by way of Chicago
3433 Posts

Profile of Stanyon
Are these figures as it relates to Overhand, Riffle or Faro shuffles...and will the Faro shuffles skew the math if they are Ins or Outs?

FWIW
Stanyon