The Magic Café
Username:
Password:
[ Lost Password ]
  [ Forgot Username ]
The Magic Cafe Forum Index » » Finger/stage manipulation » » Parasol newbie question. (2 Likes) Printer Friendly Version

Hood
View Profile
Veteran user
328 Posts

Profile of Hood
I know this may have been covered many times but I am a complete beginner and very new to parasols but have been thinking of adding it to a piece in my show is it possible to produce them if I am performing without sleeves, no coat or long sleeve shirt?

Thank you
jimhlou
View Profile
Inner circle
3698 Posts

Profile of jimhlou
I'm guessing that would be a "no"

Jim
Frank Simpson
View Profile
Special user
SW Montana
883 Posts

Profile of Frank Simpson
It can be done with relatively simple apparatus. I have a friend whose act begins with a parasol production that does not involve a coat or sleeves.
Jimmy Joza
View Profile
Special user
New York City
760 Posts

Profile of Jimmy Joza
There are different type of body loads that can be used that don't require the clothing you mentioned. There are some props you could use but, personally, I think the body loads make the production seem more magical.

Purchase a parasol magic DVD. One is easily available from most magic stores.
"Those who simply walk in others' tracks leave no footprints."
Dick Oslund
View Profile
Inner circle
8357 Posts

Profile of Dick Oslund
I was about 6, (1938) when I saw my first magician at school. Stanley the Magician opened with a parasol production from a foulard! WOW!

Seven years later, I did my 'first' show on THAT SAME stage! I had met Stanley some months before and he showed me his parasol. It became MY opening trick for several years. A co-t was needed. I still demo it when I lecture. Properly used, a production from a foulard is great.

Harry Blackstone Sr. at one time opened by producing a goat from a foulard. PM me if you like, regarding PROPER USE OF FOULARD. Ed Reno produced four bowls full of water from a 'rag'!