The Magic Café
Username:
Password:
[ Lost Password ]
  [ Forgot Username ]
The Magic Cafe Forum Index » » Now that’s funny! » » Finding The Funny (4 Likes) Printer Friendly Version

Aus
View Profile
Special user
Australia
921 Posts

Profile of Aus
Hi guys and gals. I have been doing magic for over 24 years and consider myself well versed in many aspects of the art but have never really cut my teeth on the comedy aspects of magic. Only recently I purchased Stand-up: A Professional Guide to Comedy Magic by Ian Keable to make a concuss focus to better understand this area which is little known to me.

That being said after reading Ian’s book I’m still left wondering how comedy magicians find the Funny elements in your routines. Do you write your routines ups and let the comedic elements evolve over time? Do you pre-script the comedy to a comedy formula? Do you wing it cold turkey every performance? How do you do it?

I understand there are books with stock lines and bits of business but after watching many great comedy magicians there seems to be an adapt ability to find funny things with the most benign aspects of a routine like shuffling a deck of cards, asking for a person’s name, handing them a pen etc. Is this something that can be taught and cultivated or do you need the gift of the gab to develop this sort of comedic ease?

Magically

Aus
Mindpro
View Profile
Inner circle
9325 Posts

Profile of Mindpro