The Magic Café
Username:
Password:
[ Lost Password ]
  [ Forgot Username ]
The Magic Cafe Forum Index » » New to magic? » » Typical learning times? (3 Likes) Printer Friendly Version

DrMidnight
View Profile
New user
Arkansas
10 Posts

Profile of DrMidnight
I am aware that everyone learns differently and that no two people are the same, however, I was curious as to how long some forum members might expect learning a technique to take.

Some background:

I am a beginner to card magic (non self working) and have started learning from the Royal Road to Card Magic using a study guide I got off of these forums. However, the guides are a bit vague about how long some of the earlier techniques take to learn. They simply state, for example, that at the end of four weeks you should have a working knowledge of the Overhand shuffle, Riffle Shuffle, Hindu Shuffle, and the Classic Force.
However, it doesn't explain how long each day you should practice or even what a working knowledge means. Does this mean be able to fool a lay person?
I'm into my third week of this guide and I try to practice about 30 minutes or more every day. I came into this practice with a decent overhand shuffle anyways and I still don't feel comfortable doing most of these sleights in front of others.
Is this normal? Can I hope to eventually get as good at injogging as others? And forget palming a card at this rate!
I guess I'm just trying to head off discouragement by hearing I'm not the only one who isn't a rapid learner. The study guide breaks the learning down into weeks so I thought it would be easier than this for the basics.

Thanks for not flaming a newb.
silvercup
View Profile
Loyal user
223 Posts

Profile of silvercup
As you said each is different. That's your answer.
You, him, her, and I all have different skills, understanding, and learning processes.
I never gave it a thought about how long to learn something.