The Magic Café
Username:
Password:
[ Lost Password ]
  [ Forgot Username ]
The Magic Cafe Forum Index » » New to magic? » » How to split cards (0 Likes) Printer Friendly Version

rannie
View Profile
Inner circle
4375 Posts

Profile of rannie
Can anybody give me some advice on how to split cards? I am trying to make face to face cards of my own combinations. thanks.
"If you can't teach an old dog new tricks, trick the old dog to learn."

-Rannie Raymundo-
aka The Boss
aka The Manila Enforcer

www.rannieraymundo.com
www.tapm.proboards80.net
jimisolo
View Profile
Regular user
League City, TX
110 Posts

Profile of jimisolo
OK, I'm NO expert at this (my advice would be to just buy the mixed gaff decks Smile ), but here are a couple of things that I've heard and/or tried.

1. Gently tap one of the corners on a hard surface until you can see the card start to split. Since you are wanting double backs ("face to face"), then you carefully peel the layer of face off of the front. (opposite would be true for double faces (back to back). Then you begin again with another card. After you have the two halves that you will need, then attach them together with adhesive and lay flat on an ironing board. Put a piece of cloth, or a towel, over the card and use an iron to press flat.

2. I've also heard that you can use steam to begin the splitting process. Then just follow the rest of the steps as outlined above.

Like I said, just go out and buy some gaffed cards. It really isn't that much money compared to the time and energy (not to mention frustration Smile ) you'll incur trying to do it yourself.

But if you're really gung-ho about doing it, try the above methods and let me know how it turns out. If it doesn't work out right (which it won't right off, so be prepared to give it several tries-don't give up too soon), then let me know and I'll go dig out the step-by-step instructions. Smile

My 2,

Rob
Emily Belleranti
View Profile
Veteran user
Tucson, Arizona
349 Posts