The Magic Café
Username:
Password:
[ Lost Password ]
  [ Forgot Username ]
The Magic Cafe Forum Index » » Gaffed & Funky » » Red Black separation (4 Likes) Printer Friendly Version

smikey12000
View Profile
Regular user
150 Posts

Profile of smikey12000
Sorry to bother you guys
I am rather new to magic , and card manipulation,
and I bought a couple of bicycle Stripper decks and a few DVD's relating to their magic
and I realize it should be easy to separate the Reds from the Blacks by 'pulling gently'
But I just can't do it well....Sooo frustrating !!
I have been practicing for a week and can't get the separation
I have no trouble 'stripping out 2 or 3 or 4 cards from the deck
but I just can't seem to strip out say more than 10...
without dragging along others...etc...
I really would like to figure out how to separate the Rds/Blacks, for say an OOTW routine...
Any advice for me...??
or is there a book/DVD I can purchase, to help me
Thanks for any help
OK to just PM me if you like
Michael in Baltimore
Steven Keyl
View Profile
Inner circle
Washington, D.C.
2630 Posts

Profile of Steven Keyl
A couple of quick points:

• Both hands should be same relative distance from their respective ends. Whether it be 1/4", 1/2", etc.
  • Experiment with holding the deck at slightly different distances from the end. Holding it too far near the end or not far enough can have a big impact on your success
  • Here's a biggie: Hold the cards lightly! The harder you grip them the harder it will be to separate the colors
  • Try holding the cards vertically so that they are resting on your middle fingers. Relax your fingers so that you're "putting air" between the cards and then gently try the strip out. I still do this if I'm using a hot sticky deck that doesn't want to separate properly