The Magic Café
Username:
Password:
[ Lost Password ]
  [ Forgot Username ]
The Magic Cafe Forum Index » » New to magic? » » Any tips for performing at events such as weddings etc? (2 Likes) Printer Friendly Version

Sel
View Profile
New user
75 Posts

Profile of Sel
Hi,

I performed card tricks at a friends wedding and everyone loved it! I did is as a friend and because I enjoy magic
A few said I should do it to earn some money from.
A photographer there said I only need a few minutes worth of tricks and go from group to group at a wedding and perform and get paid for it.

Any tips for doing this?
I am not a pro magician but have a few good tricks

Your thoughts would be much appreciated
Whats a good way to begin?
danielrmk
View Profile
Regular user
200 Posts

Profile of danielrmk
Get "The Approach" by Jamie D Grant, it will guide you from amateur to working pro.

Dani
Sel
View Profile
New user
75 Posts

Profile of Sel
Awesome - thank you
george1953
View Profile
Inner circle
Mallorca (Spain)
5943 Posts

Profile of george1953
Try performing anniversary waltz, a great routine and they get to keep a souvenir of your performance .
By failing to prepare, we are preparing to fail.
David Fillary
View Profile
Special user
662 Posts

Profile of David Fillary
Personal opinion - wait a bit before doing paid gigs.

I did my first paid gig outside of my university (I had previously done some paid work for society balls and stuff at uni) a few weeks back and I'm glad I was already experienced. When you know you are being paid, you feel more pressure to perform well and get even more tempted to rush things.

Performing for strangers is also very different.

So my advice:

Find a free gig that you can do, such as a charity event, local fair, perform for a local scouting group etc.
This will get you experience approaching strangers and performing. Once you get that down, you'll be ready.

This is the route I've taken and its really starting to pay off Smile
Sel
View Profile
New user