The Magic Café
Username:
Password:
[ Lost Password ]
  [ Forgot Username ]
The Magic Cafe Forum Index » » Not very magical, still... » » California (38 Likes) Printer Friendly Version

Go to page 1~2~3 [Next]
stoneunhinged
View Profile
Inner circle
3067 Posts

Profile of stoneunhinged
I was born in California. I also like visiting California. I just got married in Californa. Now my new wife also likes California. A lot.

We've spent the last three days fantasizing about moving to California.

The problem is that the more we talk about it, the more we want to do it. But giving up a tenured position to run off to California is a bit...well...crazy. In the academic world you go where the jobs are. You don't just pick up and move and then drop by the local university and offer your services.

In fact I'd probably be giving up my whole career.

So what could I do?

I have a PhD and twenty-four years teaching experience, and I'm 51-years-old, and I'm fluent in German. What can I do with that? What do people in the real world do to earn their pay?

Any ideas? What do people do in California? What could I myself do in California?

Oh well. I guess I got that off my chest. Thanks for listening.
Salguod Nairb
View Profile

Room 101
0 Posts

Profile of Salguod Nairb
We shall meet in the place where there is no darkness...
landmark
View Profile
Inner circle
within a triangle
5194 Posts

Profile of landmark
Congratulations on the marriage Stone. As to California, what does the new Ms. Stoneunhinged do?
tommy
View Profile
Eternal Order
Devil's Island
16543 Posts

Profile of tommy
California, they are looking fire eaters.
If there is a single truth about Magic, it is that nothing on earth so efficiently evades it.

Tommy
stoneunhinged
View Profile
Inner circle
3067 Posts

Profile of stoneunhinged
Landmark, Mrs Unhinged is a talented bread baker.
imgic
View Profile
Inner circle
Moved back to Midwest to see
1338 Posts

Profile of imgic
First if all, congratulations on the marriage.