The Magic Café
Username:
Password:
[ Lost Password ]
  [ Forgot Username ]
The Magic Cafe Forum Index » » New to magic? » » Beginner show starters (deck) (0 Likes) Printer Friendly Version

slipperyfish10
View Profile
New user
12 Posts

Profile of slipperyfish10
Hi Café magicians. First timer here. I was wondering what trick you would use as a 'show starter', a trick to grab peoples attention. Preferably easy (beginner) and preferably no complicated sleight of hand (still getting used to sleight of hand). The one necessity is that there can be no set-up. The trick should be able to be done if somebody handed you a deck of cards you had never seen before.

I read a thread on tricks you don't need setups for but being a beginner I did not understand much of it.

Regards,
The fish
Aus
View Profile
Special user
Australia
934 Posts

Profile of Aus
Probably what’s better than a list of tricks is better understanding of what makes a good opener. Anyone can tell you a list of tricks that could be good openers but sometimes a good opener has nothing to do with the trick as opposed to what you do during the trick. Check out my Routining (How-To Guide) which explains concepts of good openers, once you understand the concepts you will be able to pick your own.

http://www.themagiccafe.com/forums/viewt......forum=41

Magically

Aus
Terrible Wizard
View Profile
Inner circle
1973 Posts

Profile of Terrible Wizard
I assume you are just thinking in terms of card tricks - though as a general rule I'd probably avoid having a card trick as an opener. What sources of tricks do you currently have? Obviously, you are limited to what you know or can read (or are prepared to buy).
jimgerrish
View Profile
Inner circle
East Orange, NJ
3181 Posts

Profile of jimgerrish
Choosing a "show starter" assumes that you have a show. What is it? Give us a list of the tricks you have mastered and we can then suggest which of them is best for a starter.
slipperyfish10
View Profile
New user
12 Posts