The Magic Café
Username:
Password:
[ Lost Password ]
  [ Forgot Username ]
The Magic Cafe Forum Index » » The side walk shuffle » » How does this act sound? (7 Likes) Printer Friendly Version

Munskin
View Profile
Loyal user
Cheshire, UK
297 Posts

Profile of Munskin
Hi guys,

I've been a long time lurker on these boards and I'm trying to develop a show that would work on the street; probably more doorway act at first, but I would like to develop something that would play bigger when I have a few more shows under my belt.

The trouble I have is that I feel that my close up act (I'm a professional close up magician - whatever that is) feels very small and somehow, not good enough as a finale, if that makes any sense? I think I'm probably comparing my act to a straightjacket escape, or Gazzo producing six fruit and a whopping melon, but I'm struggling to come up with a finale for my show.

Presently, my close up act ibnvolves card tricks and a chop cup as a finale. Now, I like my chop cup routine, as it has lots of moments of comedy and interaction, but I'm just wondering if two final loads is a good enough "tada" for the streets, and whether it'll be enough to get the money. Do I need more?

Initially I thought about getting someone to sign a card, do a trick, have someone else sign it, do another trick....continue until the card is full of names and then vanish it. Then move on to something else and, as a finale, produce the signed card from a nest of boxes or whatever. I could use the chop cup as an intermediary effect, as it's modular enough to take breaks during it and remind the audience about the vanished card.

Or am I overthinking it? Could I just do card tricks to build the crowd and then perform the chop cup as a finale?

I'd love to know your thoughts on this guys. Many tanks.
themagiciansapprentice
View Profile
Inner circle
Essex, UK
1381 Posts

Profile of themagiciansapprentice
It depends how entertaining you are