The Magic Café
Username:
Password:
[ Lost Password ]
  [ Forgot Username ]
The Magic Cafe Forum Index » » Going for the 'Gold' » » Young Magician of the Year Competition (0 Likes) Printer Friendly Version

TheUltimateSudo
View Profile
New user
23 Posts

Profile of TheUltimateSudo
Hi guys Smile
I am 16, and am looking to enter the Young Magician of the Year Competition 2015. It requires the performance of an 8-12 minute stage act.
I've been doing magic for 4 years, and am a member of the Young Magicians Club.
I am interested in doing a slightly darker act. perhaps mentalism/psychic?

Does anyone have any ideas of what I could put into an act, and how I should go about structuring it?

Thankyou!!!
TheUltimateSudo
View Profile
New user
23 Posts

I generally perform card tricks in a local restaurant, but generally dressed up as "I'm Psychic".
I'm not very experienced on stage, however The competition isn't until February, so I will get the oppurtunity to perform at the stage in the magic circle a few times between now and then.
I don't have any video's of me performing online.
I'm from London, and the Competition is at the Magic Circle.
Bill Hegbli
View Profile
Eternal Order
Fort Wayne, Indiana
22797 Posts

Profile of Bill Hegbli
Wow! The magic circle, that is an impressive event. My advice is to not change what you are doing just for a competition. Psychic abilities could be done along the lines of mentalism magic tricks. This is a very tough type of magic. You have to be able to turn on the personality as that is what will carry you though. Mentalism does not use props to lean on or things to handle.

Competitions usually look for original material, not anything that has been done or sold on the magic market. Performing standard tricks that you have altered in some way will fall into this category as well. Putting a good twist on an old trick is the easiest way to accomplish making it look new and original.