The Magic Café
Username:
Password:
[ Lost Password ]
  [ Forgot Username ]
The Magic Cafe Forum Index » » New to magic? » » First Stage Show (0 Likes) Printer Friendly Version

konradz
View Profile
New user
62 Posts

Profile of konradz
Hi,

I'm hoping that this is the best place to post this. I'm not "new" to magic, I've been doing it for many years (10+) but only in a close up setting. I am quite proficient with cards, but haven't branched out much from there.

At work, we are having a talent competition on December 12th (less than 3 weeks away) and many people are hoping a great performance from me as I am known to do card magic. Unfortunately, I have 0 experience with stage magic and I am hoping to use this as an opportunity to motivate myself to learn (I've said no to paid gigs because of this in the past).

I am hoping for some advice on what to perform. I have good stage presence (I used to do theatre acting) but I am worried that most of the tricks I have proficiency in will not play well for the big crowd. I just ordered a set of linking rings and am hoping to perform an adaptation of Whit Haydn's four ring routine. I know the "secret" behind the linking rings, but have never used them. Is it feasible to assume I will be able to learn to perform this routine in about a week and a half (giving time for shipping)?

I am also hoping to perform a sucker silk to egg and Smart Ass by Bill Abbott which I am not worried about. Assuming the linking rings routine is not at a state I can perform at, what are some other routines/tricks I could look into? I am interested in comedic stage effects where the magician is "teaching" how a trick is done.

Thanks for any help and wish me luck!
davidpaul$
View Profile
Inner circle
Pittsburgh, Pa
2911 Posts

Profile of davidpaul$
Konradz,