We Remember The Magic Café We Remember
Username:
Password:
[ Lost Password ]
  [ Forgot Username ]
The Magic Cafe Forum Index » » Finger/stage manipulation » » Fanning Powder (0 Likes) Printer Friendly Version

peter teagle
View Profile
Regular user
Redditch, UK
195 Posts

Profile of peter teagle
As a total beginner to card manipulation, can anybody tell me what the cards are suppose to feel like after I have prepared them, with fanning powder, as shown in volume 2 of Jeff McBrides DVD? Any help on this would be much appreciated!

Thanks guys!
"technique is science.
the application of technique is art."

peter teagle
Bill Hegbli
View Profile
Eternal Order
Fort Wayne, Indiana
22511 Posts

Profile of Bill Hegbli
They should feel like they now glide across one another, and fan perfectly, meaning they show the same portions on all card corners.

If you have powder on your hands after handling you have 2 much powder on them.

No white should be showing. If you do have powder showing wipe each card with a cotton ball lightly.
peter teagle
View Profile
Regular user
Redditch, UK
195 Posts

Profile of peter teagle
Thanks wmhegbli, Mine feel slightly 'waxy'! Although they fan pretty well, I can feel a slight resistance or 'drag' when I try to produce the cards individually. I followed JMcB's instructions as acurately as I could. The cards, Bee brand, were new out of the box. Any thoughts, wmhegbli?
I appreciate your help!
"technique is science.

peter teagle
Bill Hegbli
View Profile
Eternal Order
Fort Wayne, Indiana
22511 Posts

Profile of Bill Hegbli
Sounds okay to me, except you may still have a little to much powder on them. Shuffling them may help also. Remember whenever youdrop a card on the floor to wipe it off before putting it back with the others.