The Magic Café
Username:
Password:
[ Lost Password ]
  [ Forgot Username ]
The Magic Cafe Forum Index » » New to magic? » » Skeptical wife syndrome, anyone seen this? (14 Likes) Printer Friendly Version

Go to page 1~2~3 [Next]
RookieMage
View Profile
New user
Rookies only have
58 Posts

Profile of RookieMage
My wife has been somewhat skeptical about my new passion for magic, and it makes me a bit crazy. She does not see lots of effects from me because I have an aversion to showing her stuff until I have it down pat. And I'm a frickin Rookie Mage, so my skills are not quite at the Houdini level just yet... So my magic performances for her are somewhat infrequent and she does not seem to integrate the time I have to spend in practicing. I love the reactions I get when I show her something that I can do well, but the rest of the time she is less than enthusiastic about my taking time for it/spending money on it. Not so much that she is gonna strangle me, but sort of a less than cheerleader attitude, if you know what I mean. Is this common among significant others/has anyone else dealt with this and/or have a helpful tip for the newbie?
professorwhut
View Profile
Inner circle
Posts R US sold me
1347 Posts

Profile of professorwhut
My wife does not enjoy magic, she never has.
If I approach her with a deck of cards in my hands, she will run out of the room screaming.
After much soul searching about a signature, I decided not to have one.

TG Pop [aka ProfessorWhut]
george1953
View Profile
Inner circle
Mallorca (Spain)
5943 Posts

Profile of george1953
I am lucky, my wife enjoys magic and is very clued up with respect to moves sleights etc.
So I always show her any new ideas and know that she will tell me exactly what she thinks of it. To me having someone tell me truthfully what was good, what should be changed etc. is a useful weapon to have.
By failing to prepare, we are preparing to fail.
Lance Inkwell
View Profile
New user
Casper, WY
6 Posts

Profile of Lance Inkwell