The Magic Café
Username:
Password:
[ Lost Password ]
  [ Forgot Username ]
The Magic Cafe Forum Index » » New to magic? » » Working on a card sleight - mark your card with lipstick (0 Likes) Printer Friendly Version

JayLugh
View Profile
New user
Canada
26 Posts

Profile of JayLugh
I love card magic but I'm a total beginner. I'm auditioning for a lead in a musical in about a month, and the audition will be in front of a panel of 5 people, including the director, stage manager, and choreographer. This company asks people to include in their audition a "minute to impress". You can do pretty much anything in that minute (Doesn't have to be exactly a minute, as long as it's short.) Last time I auditioned for this company I did stand up comedy, got a callback for the role I really wanted, and ended up cast, but in a different role.

I'm working on a card sleight for this audition. The storyline is that I'm going to make a card fall in love with the person I'm doing the trick for - I show them their card, put the card back into the deck and then it jumps to the top - my story during the trick is that the card has fallen in love with them and when they tap the deck it comes to the top so it can be close to them. For added effect, I want them to mark the card in the beginning before I put it back in the deck, to prove that it's the same card - but instead of the usual signing their name, I'm going to ask the director (who is male) to put on lipstick and kiss the card, marking it with a lipstick kiss. I know most of the people on the panel, and I'm pretty sure that the guy will do it, and that everyone will find it pretty amusing/funny.

Has anyone tried something like this? I'm wondering how messy it is/whether lipstick will transfer to cards/rub off easily. I guess the best way to find out is to get some lipstick and try it.
harris
View Profile
Inner circle
Harris Deutsch
8689 Posts

Profile of harris
This reminds me of a Boris Wild premise.